Uncategorized

Kids Books and Crafts

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not very crafty. Usually when I see DIY projects on Pinterest, I scoff and wonder how anyone has the time or talent for such things. Maybe I just don’t have the eye…or the patience…to twist wire into elaborate shapes that somehow become a wall hanging or earrings.

That’s probably why the crafts I like are designed for kids. For one, they require little patience, because they are designed with a short attention span in mind. Two, they aren’t expected to be perfect. Three, I just have a love for kids.

My favorite type of craft brings something from a children’s book to life. Last year, when I taught Title I at an elementary school, we hosted a literacy night. I had the opportunity to co-present Chris P. Bacon My Life So Far…

After reading the story, and watching a video online, we had the kids make Chris’s wheels using cookies (that we pre-cut holes in), pretzels and mini-marshmallows. Of course the kids’ favorite part was that the craft was edible. I won’t lie that that was my favorite part, too.

Every once in a while I see cute ideas on Pinterest that I am saving to hopefully do with my kids someday. It would be just my luck that they have no interest in crafts, no matter how simple. In that case, I’ll probably still do them on my own. Some of my favorites I’ve seen are…

If You Give a Moose a Muffin muffins. These are some of my favorite childhood books. The craft doubles as a snack! There are many more of these ideas here.

I also had several cool cakes for my birthdays growing up, courtesy of my dad, including a Kaa-shaped cake for a The Jungle Book party. This cupcake-cake looks a little more in my reach.

And these would be very fun to do around the holidays.

 

This is post 16/30

Leave a Reply

