Recipes

Butternut Squash Chili

Let me be up front: I can’t actually take credit for this recipe. It’s inexplicably in my file of recipes, without a hint of a source.

Whoever did invent this chili deserves major kudos.

It seems that over the past few years, I’ve frequently been gifted butternut squashes. Maybe those people just don’t know about this chili, otherwise they probably wouldn’t be as willing to give up their squashes. My friends and family – vegetarian, vegan, and omnivorous alike – all love this hearty chili.

Ingredients:
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
2 and 1/3 cup salsa
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
16-ounce can black beans
1 butternut squash
1 red or yellow pepper, chopped

Directions:
Peel and cube the butternut squash. Steam the squash on the stove (or in a microwave) for about 5-6 minutes. In a large pot, cook the chopped onion and olive oil. Add the tomatoes, salsa, cumin, salt and basil, and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the black beans, squash and pepper; cook an additional 15 minutes.

Depending on the crowd I’m feeding, I either ramp up the spice, or tone it down. It’s flexible. The intensity will also depend so much on which salsa you choose to use. I almost always use Kirkland Signature Organic, because it’s what we have around.

Do you like your chili spicy? What seasonings do you typically use?

 

This is post 8/30

One thought on “Butternut Squash Chili

  1. Haha, your friends must know you’ll use the squashes well! Personally, I’d be very reluctant to give up a squash (or pumpkin) unless I knew it would be going to a good home 🙂
    I’m a bit weird when it comes to chili – I love adding actual chiles, but really dislike cumin for some reason (as I said, I’m rather weird!)

Leave a Reply

