Uncategorized

Harry Potter and the Girl Who Wouldn’t Stop Reading

“Time will not slow down when something unpleasant lies ahead.”

That is precisely how I felt when I began reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Since I was in early elementary school, I had loved reading J.K. Rowling’s books about Harry, his friends, and their adventures. I, like many others, felt that these books became part of my childhood.

I love to read, and have read many books. There are some books that I loved long ago (Little House on the Prairie), there are books that were part of my adolescence (The Catcher in the Rye), and there are classics that I come back to every once in a while (Pride and Prejudice.) As I’ve gotten older, I haven’t slowed down one bit, as you can see from my list. There aren’t many books that I’ve read that I haven’t liked.

What makes Harry Potter special is that these books grew with me. After reading one, I was always left eagerly anticipating the next. The first few were ones that my parents read aloud to me in installments before bed. When I was finally old enough, I tackled them on my own. Since then, I’ve read each one at least twice. I think I’ve read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (from which the quote above comes) at least five times. Rereading these books brings happy memories and a sense of comfort, and I still enjoy them for their stories.

Even if you’re not writing for the #30for30 challenge, I’d love to hear what your favorite novel is. Contrary to what appears to be popular belief, I actually do want to read your comments!

 

This is post 4/30

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Girl Who Wouldn’t Stop Reading

Leave a Reply

