Uncategorized

Why Halloween is Freaking Awesome

Last week, Nick announced that he had a surprise date planned for us. I, who am not very good and keeping surprises a secret due to my excitement, did my best not to spoil this one. I patiently waited until Sunday night when he told me that he was taking me to the student lounge at school to watch Hocus Pocus (we don’t have cable, or a DVD player, or even a big TV.) It was a thoughtful surprise, even if when we got there someone was already watching Sunday night football and we had to turn around…. Hadn’t anyone told this guy that Hocus Pocus was on?!

Which brings me to my list of the top reasons why Halloween is freaking awesome.

1. Hocus Pocus.

It’s one of my favorite movies of all time, not just for Halloween. It seems like each year, I watch it more and more. If you’re not convinced, just read this Buzzfeed article.

2. Trick-or-Treating

As a kid, I loved trick-or-treating. To be honest, I went out on Halloween night long after I probably should have. Even in college, I was thrilled to be able to trick-or-treat for UNICEF as an excuse to dress up in my costume and wander the neighborhood around Butler with my friends.

76294_1403626942615_7290488_n
In case you’re puzzled by the blue costume, he was a snuggie.

I’m also looking forward to the day when I take my own kids out on Halloween. Last year, when I was working in the elementary school, I loved hearing the costumes of my students. This year, I asked to see the costume of the girl that I nanny for, and was deeply impressed. She is going as WALL-E, and her homemade costume is so detailed. I think I’m going to have to step up my costume game before I have kids…

3. The treats

Kit Kats and Reese’s are my favorites. If it’s not chocolate, I’m guaranteed to trade it.

The fruit – er, sugar – of our labors. And don’t forget about the ready-to-bake Pillsbury cookies. I personally liked it better when they came in a tube instead of pre-cut. Where’s the fun in that?

4. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

You can watch the full show on Hulu. Garfield’s Halloween Adventure was another favorite at my house this time of year.

Well, that about wraps it up. What are some of your favorite things about Halloween?

 

2 thoughts on “Why Halloween is Freaking Awesome

Leave a Reply

