Uncategorized

The Hunger Games

By now, you might be wondering where I’ve been in the past week.

Well, here it is:

I’ve been holed up reading The Hunger Games trilogy. It’s been dark and rainy for almost the whole past week, so can you really blame me for curling up under a blanket and escaping to something more exciting?

I know. My cat’s name is Catniss, but this really was my first time reading the books. We picked her name based on my husband’s love of the movies, and because it’s just cute.

This is how you know you might be addicted:

  • When your husband comes home for dinner, you tell him that water is boiling and ask if he could please cook the pasta while you finish a chapter
  • You decide to drive to yoga instead of bike because it will give you 3 more minutes of reading
  • You get mad at your cat if she positions herself on your lap so that she blocks the page you’re reading
  • You stay up to almost midnight finishing the last book

I don’t think I’ve stayed up late to finish a book since high school, when I used to spend a lot of my time reading…I was (and am) a huge bookworm. Even though I wouldn’t say these are my favorite books, there is just something about reading a story that moves so fast and is full of action that grips me.

Anyway, I’m frantically trying to accomplish everything on my to-do list that got put on the back burner this week. Baking pumpkin muffins. Cleaning the apartment for my dad’s visit. Figuring out what I’m going to wear to my friend’s wedding this weekend. Getting groceries for the next week. Maybe if I pretend all these things are as exciting as an action novel, I’ll get them done in double time.

One thought on “The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

