Recipes

Dark Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Oat Bread

I’m keeping a tally of how many squashes and cans of pumpkin I go through this fall. So far, the count for squash is 8 (I think.) I’ve only gone through 3 cans of pumpkin, though. I don’t know if I should be proud of my restraint, or appalled that I’m holding back…

Regardless, the most recent can of pumpkin was put to a noble purpose, that of pumpkin bread. I absolutely love chocolate chip pumpkin bread, as well as pumpkin muffins, cookies, shakes, ice cream, and scones; however, I can’t stand pumpkin pie. Perhaps here is where I should finally tell this tale…

When I was in early elementary school, my family and I went to visit my cousins in their new home in Pennsylvania for Thanksgiving. We were all so excited to run around together and explore the new house. Everything was going great until one by one we all began to get the stomach flu. On the holiday I recall eat mini waffles with peanut butter, pretending to have a real meal, just so I could get to the pumpkin pie. I don’t remember eating the pie, but I do remember leaving the table and soon feeling sick. The next thing I knew, I was in the bathroom and the pie was headed the wrong way. TMI. Anyway, the smell of pumpkin pie makes me feel nauseous to this day. Poor pie, it wasn’t the real culprit but it still takes the heat. Luckily, in recent years I’ve adopted a pumpkin alternative on Thanksgiving. In addition to home baked apple pie, we usually buy at least one loaf of Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread from Great Harvest Bread Co.

I’ve always wanted to try making this bread at home, but never found a recipe that had me running to the kitchen. Then, it occurred to me that I could transform my famous Dark Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Bread into a pumpkin bread.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups oat flour (I just grind the oats in my food processor)
1 cup old fashioned oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 cup vanilla fat-free yogurt
1 can of pumpkin (or about 1 1/2 cups cooked pumpkin)
1 flax “egg” (1 tbsp flax + 3 tbsp water)
2 tablespoons honey or agave
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Dark chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F

Whisk together flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spice in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Combine yogurt, pumpkin, flax, honey, and vanilla extract in a medium bowl; add to flour mixture and stir until combined. Gently fold in dark chocolate chips.

Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Note: this bread bakes longer than my banana bread, and will still be really moist. Make sure to leave it in long enough, though, otherwise it will look more like baked oatmeal, which might not be bad, and since there’s no egg, have at it if you so choose!

3 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Oat Bread

  1. *Gasp!* That’s tragic about the pumpkin pie story!! But you’ve certainly made up for it with all your recent pumpkin recipes 🙂 This bread looks amazing – I love that it’s made with oats instead of flour (great for those of us who have trouble digesting gluten)!

Leave a Reply

