Recipes

Spicy Pumpkin Hummus (Anti-Vampire Dip)

The only reason I didn’t buy every single pumpkin item at Trader Joe’s this week is because my husband kept me in check. He did, however, allow me a few items, including a simple can of pumpkin, which didn’t take a lot of begging once he found out what I was making with it.

Pumpkin hummus with homemade blue corn crackers my mother-in-law and I made last fall
Pumpkin hummus with homemade blue corn crackers my mother-in-law and I made last fall

I first made this pumpkin hummus for a Halloween party that my roommates and I hosted in our first apartment in college. I knew everyone else would likely bring sweet pumpkin treats, so I wanted to mix things up and make something savory. This hummus was born out of much internet research (these were the days before Pinterest!) I so cleverly decided to call it Anti-Vampire Dip.

Fun fact: I've been a black cat at least half the years of my life
Fun fact: I’ve been a black cat at least half the years of my life

Ingredients:

1 can pumpkin puree
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or red pepper flakes – also good!)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 clove garlic, minced (OR MORE if you’re afraid of vampires or just love garlic like we do)
Salt & pepper to taste

Directions: Blend chickpeas and pumpkin in a food processor (a blender works as well.) Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. This hummus is good with veggies or pita chips, but I especially love it with Trader Joe’s pumpernickel pretzels. Enjoy!

 

If you love the idea of savory pumpkin recipes, try The Breakfast Drama Queen’s Pumpkin Alfredo Pasta. I know I’m looking forward to making it soon.

One thought on “Spicy Pumpkin Hummus (Anti-Vampire Dip)

Leave a Reply

