Recipes

Roasted Squash Seeds

As may have become apparent in my recent blog posts, I’m having a hard time adjusting to the idea that it’s fall. Technically, it’s not fall yet, but the temperatures have dropped and my friends are all trading their sandals for boots. I, on the other hand, would still be perfectly content to be walking around in shorts and a tank. In fact, I am, because I’m in denial. There’s just something about resigning myself over from the fun of summer to the…reality of autumn.

Don’t get me wrong, every year once I’ve accepted that summer won’t be coming around until next year, I get pretty excited about autumn. I savor the coloring of the leaves, the jeans and sweaters, the crispness of the air, the cider (hard or otherwise), the pumpkin everything. Oh, and I eagerly await Thanksgiving, which is my absolute favorite holiday.

Last fall, I lived with my in-laws while I taught in the Title I program at the local elementary school. I never worked on Fridays (which sounds good until you realize you don’t get benefits or a big enough pay check…but I’ll spare you that speech) and so would spend those days with my mother-in-law in the kitchen. She, like I am now, received a lot of squash from the CSA (community supported agriculture) program she participates in. We made squash brownies, my favorite pumpkin cookies, and even roasted the seeds, something I hadn’t done for a long time. We had a lot of fun in the kitchen, and it was great time spent together.

This morning, after accumulating seeds from delicata, acorn and butternut squashes that I’ve cooked this week, I gathered up all the seeds. Inspired by this blog post, I decided to get a little fancy with my flavoring.

Sweet & salty on top, savory on bottom
Sweet & salty on top, savory on bottom

Directions:

Clean the squash seeds as best you can by rinsing in a colander and picking off the squash bits (I hate calling it flesh!) Dry with a cloth or paper towel. Spray a small tray or two with non-stick spray (I use olive oil, but I’m sure canola or coconut would work, too.) Lay the seeds out so that they are spread out. Spray once again with the oil. Sprinkle with your seasoning. Roast in a 300 degree oven for about 20 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Here’s where it gets fun.

For the sweet & salty: Sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt & cinnamon. Halfway through cooking, remove from oven and drizzle with a little honey. Place back in the oven until done.

For the savory: Sprinkle with a pinch of salt, and a teensy bit of curry powder. A little goes a long way.

Does anyone else think roasted pumpkin seeds taste like popcorn? More importantly, do you have any variations on roasted seeds? I’m sure I’ll be getting more squash this season and would love to try them!

Leave a Reply

