Recipes

No-bake Almond Cookies

Last week I saw this recipe for a no-bake peanut butter cookie and, after drooling over the photos for a little bit, decided to get to work in the kitchen. The first batch I made was irresistible; I ate three even before sticking them in the fridge. Even as I write this I’m snacking on a few. I’ve already experimented with a couple variations, but I’m still dreaming up more…such as a chocolate coconut flavor.

Ingredients:

12-14 Medjool dates, pitted
2/3 cup raw almonds
1/2 cup oats
2 tablespoons ground flax
3 tablespoons chocolate PB2 + 1 1/2 tablespoons water (I order mine from Vitacost)
3 tablespoons almond butter

Directions: Place the pitted dates in a strong blender or food processor (I used my Ninja.) Blend the dates until they begin to form little (or big) clumps. Add the almonds, oats and flax. Pulse the mixture several times, and then process until it forms delicious-looking crumbs. In a bowl, mix PB2 and water; add almond butter and stir. Add the crumbly mixture to the nut butters and mix. It should start to stick together, but you may need to add a little more almond butter if not. Form into little balls and place onto a plate or in a container. While these are really good to eat while you make them, they are fantastic once they’ve firmed up in the refrigerator for several hours. Your family and friends will also thank you for not eating all of them at once.

Nick is running in the Heartland Half Marathon this weekend. I think these will make good snacks both pre- and post-race. More on the race and long weekend festivities later. Happy Labor Day Weekend!

Leave a Reply

