Recipes

Zucchini & Carrot Muffins

Once again, it’s Waterfront Wednesday and I will not be in attendance. WFPK, my favorite listener-supported radio station, hosts these free concerts the final Wednesday evening of the month, April through September. The first one I didn’t hear about until I showed up to the yoga studio that evening wondering why it was a ghost town until someone clued me in. Since then, I’ve had to work, have been out of town, or something has just come up. Tonight I’ve got a Skype date with my best friend in New York; it’s the only time our schedules allow us to do some long-overdue catching up, so I’m actually content. Besides, the real summer weather of Kentucky is catching up to us and it’s hot and humid.

It also helps that I’m currently streaming WFPK while baking some zucchini and carrot muffins. I’m a big fan of sneaking veggies into sweet treats. These are really good with raisins, but we ran out of those the other day.

Displaying photo.JPG

Zucchini & Carrot Muffins

3 tablespoons ground flax seeds + 1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons agave (If you want them really sweet, I suggest adding more)
1/2 cup applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup grated zucchini & carrot (I used a 3:1 ratio)
1 1/2 cups oat flour (or whole wheat pastry)
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips, raisins, walnuts, etc.

Directions:

Grease a jumbo muffin tin. Mix together flax and warm water. Add agave, applesauce and vanilla; mix well. Add grated zucchini and carrot; stir to combine. In a separate bowl, mix remaining dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and combine until just moistened. Add in the mix-ins. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes.

I’ve lived in Louisville for almost eight months now, and I can enthusiastically say that I love this city. I’m not the only one…Louisville was recently named by Outside magazine one of the greatest places to live in America.

 

 

As I’ve said before, zucchini is endless this time of year. For more recipes, head over to The Breakfast Drama Queen.

Leave a Reply

