Recipes

Chocolate Raspberry Muffins

After a long weekend of yoga teacher training (more on that later), and a 4:45AM wake up to drop the girl I nanny off at school, I needed a little break, an opportunity to slow down. This morning called for a little baking.

At the end of last week, I saw Claudia’s Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Bread on Instagram. I love the combination of tart raspberry and rich chocolate! Last fall, when I lived with my soon-to-be in-laws for a couple months, my mother-in-law and I would often top her trademark chocolate muffins with thawed frozen raspberries. I began brainstorming, and this morning I took my mother-in-law’s recipe and added something heartwarming: a chocolate raspberry filling.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups oat flour

1/2 cup cacao powder

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon stevia

1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 tablespoon agave

Dark chocolate as needed (I chopped squares of Lindt into quarters)

Raspberry jam as needed

 

Directions:

Mix the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in a large bowl. Combine the dry ingredients into the wet. Spray a muffin tin and fill each cup about halfway full. Place one piece of chocolate in the center of the batter, and then spoon about 1/2 or 1 teaspoon of raspberry jam on top. Top with more batter until the cup is almost full. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. ENJOY!

Coincidentally, Claudia, who always seems to find herself in the midst of awards, posted some questions for me to answer. Here they are…

  1. Why did you start your blog? I started this blog when I first moved to Louisville to give myself an opportunity to feel productive, and to share my thoughts, ideas and adventures with anyone who would read them.
  2. If you had to pick one type of candy bar (or non-bar candy, such as M&Ms, peanut butter cups, etc.) that represents you, what would you pick? I wish I could say some kind of chocolate, because I love chocolate, but I think I’d have to go with something like Red Hots because I’m a little sweet, and little sassy…
  3. Are you calm under pressure, or someone who has a complete meltdown? (Or somewhere in-between, of course!) Up until a few months ago, I would definitely lean toward the meltdown end of the spectrum. Even something as simple as dropping my hairbrush would have me swearing like a sailor. Through practicing presence and equanimity, I’ve been able to make changes. It also helps that I am very content with my life at this moment.
  4. Are you loyal to any technology brand (Apple, Samsung, ASUS etc.)? I’m a slave to Apple.
  5. Do you have a regular blogging “schedule”, or do you blog randomly? It’s my goal to blog at least once a week, but I write as ideas or experiences come.
  6. Peanut butter or Nutella? I used to really like Nutella, though never more than peanut butter, but now I don’t eat it. It’s almost too sweet, and not nutty enough. I really do love Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter, though.
  7. Ideally, would you like blogging to become your career (if it isn’t already)? I don’t think I could make a career out of it, because I love my job, and have valued my other job experiences. However, I certainly wouldn’t turn it down if someone offered to pay for the adventures I dream of going on and writing about.
  8. Pancakes or waffles? This is tricky. While growing up, my dad used to make pancakes often. He would make them in the shape of Mickey Mouse’s head, or put chocolate chips in them. We even made them when we went camping. However, I also love making waffles on snow days – it became a tradition in high school, and with the winter we had this year, I had a few opportunities to continue this. Can I cheat and just say that I love Kodiak Cakes because you can make either with the mix?
  9. If you’re feeling ridiculously stressed, what do you do to relax or calm down? Primarily, I like to go for a run and get some fresh air. If I need to feel productive to take my mind off something, I bake. Reading is another good way to take my mind away from stress. I am also learning the power of meditation to empty my mind.
  10. Favorite vegetable? I really love tomatoes because they are so versatile – almost every cuisine utilizes them. My favorite root vegetable is a sweet potato (topped with almond butter and cinnamon, which makes it more like dessert.)

 

Leave a Reply

