Recipes

Bad Yogis Eat Pesto Caprese

There has been a definite trend in my diet during weekends of yoga teacher training. From Friday evening through Sunday afternoon, I pack up fresh fruits and vegetables, coconut water, a protein shake and some trail mix (Trader Joe’s Happy Trekking is my favorite.) The things a good yogi should eat to stay hydrated and healthy.

Ok, yes, I do always choose trek mix with chocolate
Ok, yes, I do always choose trek mix with chocolate

And then I get home from a weekend of ab-busting, glute-squeezing, thigh burning, bicep-shaking yoga and I turn into what Erin Motz might deem a “bad yogi.” All I want is the richest, most decadent meal I can whip up that doesn’t require too much upper body strength.

Unapologetically, pesto has been the answer.

There is just something about the rich, salty, cheesiness of pesto that says, “Yes! You made it!”

This past Sunday, I put a little twist on caprese. While in Atlanta, my aunt made this sandwich as a panini on ciabatta and it was heavenly. I decided to toast mine in the oven instead because it required less work and tasted just as satisfying.

Gone in (less than) 60 seconds

Pesto Caprese Sandwich (for 2)

4 slices of whole grain bread

1 large tomato (I had yellow, but red is better in my opinion)

2-4 slices of mozzarella (depending on your cheesiness)

Balsamic vinegar

Pesto (I used this recipe)

Directions: Slice the tomato and drizzle it with the balsamic. Spread pesto on two slices of bread. Add the tomato and mozzarella. Top it off with more bread. Bake at 350 for several minutes, until your mouth is watering too much, or until the cheese is melting.

 

I love Erin Motz’s Bad Yogi Creed because what it really gets at is that there is no such thing as a bad yogi (or at least that’s my take on it.)

 

 

 

One thought on “Bad Yogis Eat Pesto Caprese

Leave a Reply

