Recipes

Chocolate Coconut

Last month, I was obsessed with key lime. I ate key lime yogurt parfaits, key lime ice cream, and made key lime fruit & nut bars. In June, the flavor of the month seems to be chocolate coconut.

Since I began eating Clif Bar products, one of my favorite flavor combinations has been the chocolate coconut ones. I like their Coconut Chocolate Chip, as well as the Luna Bar Chocolate Dipped Coconut, and Luna Protein Chocolate Coconut Almond, which I just received in my most recent half marathon swag. So good.

I guess that most recent bar, which tasted so good after the race, was what inspired me to get creative. Here are three ways I brought this flavor combination to my kitchen:

Double Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bars

These were inspired by my other homemade Larabar recipes. I like making my own, because I can get exactly what I want.

1 cup cashews

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup almonds

12 dates, pitted

1 cup unsweetened coconut

3 tablespoons cacao powder

Cacao nibs (you could also use mini chocolate chips)

Grind the nuts in a food processor. Add the dates, coconut and cacao powder and process until it starts to stick together, although it may be a little crumbly still. Mix in the nibs (I giggle every time I say nibs.) Pour into a small baking dish and press down with a spoon. Refrigerate for several hours; trust me, it’ll be much easier to cut them. Once sliced, you can leave them where they are, or wrap them individually in plastic wrap to take on the go. (You probably could have figured all that out without my directions.)

Dark Chocolate Chip Coconut Pancakes

Ever since I first heard about Kodiak Cakes from pro-runner Ryan Hall (online that is…we’re not actually acquainted, but I think we’d be great friends because we share a love of pancakes…double date sometime?) it’s the only way I make pancakes. They’re great because the basic recipe only requires two ingredients (the mix and water), they use 100% whole grain flour, and it’s simple to make a single serving. For these pancakes, I added dark chocolate chips and some unsweetened coconut to the batter. Bam!

You could also top these with some coyo (that’s coconut yogurt, I’ve had So Delicious) or even some coconut whipped cream.

Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal

Again, this recipe isn’t rocket science. After cooking my oatmeal, I stir in my beloved Barlean’s Chocolate Silk Greens and some homemade coconut butter. Coconut butter is ridiculously easy to make, as long as you have the patience. To see what I mean, check out this recipe. A little goes a long way with the coconut butter: I probably use about 1 tablespoon for my bowl of oatmeal.

In the spirit of Follow Friday, I’d like to direct you to a blog I discovered yesterday, The Breakfast Drama Queen. She has some really creative, but easy, recipes, including this Cannoli Overnight Oatmeal.

 

Do you have a favorite flavor or flavor combination this month?

 

 

*No, I don’t receive any kind of kickbacks from the individuals or companies I mention, it just helps me to better illustrate, as well as being a way to point you, the readers, to some products I love. I sure wouldn’t complain if these products one day wound up at my apartment as a thank you, though!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut

  1. Mmm… I love chocolate and coconut! Recently, I’ve been completely obsessed with peanut butter and banana. Then again, I’m always crazy about PB & B!
    And thank you so much for the link, by the way!

Leave a comment