Uncategorized

Namaste, St. Benedict

I believe God guides me to the right place, at the right time. Sometimes it doesn’t always make sense – such as the period of injury I just came through. Although I had no idea back in July of 2013, I was turning down an important path. If I hadn’t been injured, I probably wouldn’t have returned to yoga to regain my strength. In that case, I never would have joined the community at 502 Power Yoga, I might not have invoked as much positive change in myself, and I am almost certain I wouldn’t be going through yoga teacher training.

“Jesus answered and said to him, What I am doing, you do not understand now, but you will understand later.” John 13:7

This morning I attended Mass (as I unintentionally napped through Sunday evening.) The priest led us to chant the Eucharistic prayer, and my mind went back to my time at Benedict Inn and Our Lady of Grace, which you can read about in my first blog. My first reaction was to ask myself how that experience had become relevant to my current life. How am I making sense of it in a new context? I realized that even if my time there influenced me spiritually, the greatest thing I have always desired to take with me has been the emphasis on hospitality. My mind began to whirl, and I decided that I want to commit to connecting what I learned about hospitality to my yoga practice, and eventually in my role as a teacher.

My first insight was this:

In his Rule, St. Benedict writes in one of his most famous passages, “Let all guests who arrive be received like Christ….Let the head be bowed or the whole body prostrated on the ground in adoration of Christ, who indeed is received in their persons.” In yoga, practitioners may open and close class by pressing their hands to prayer, bowing their heads, and saying, “Namaste.” When doing this in a communal practice, we acknowledge the divine in ourselves and in everyone else. These are both old, long-lasting traditions. The goal, as I see it, is to treat one another with the utmost compassion and respect; to live the Golden Rule, which, in its essence, is found in many ancient traditions.

Does anyone else have a problem with photo bombing pets?
Does anyone else have a problem with photo bombing pets?

I want to practice and spread compassion, and I feel that this insight will help shape my path. Beyond that, the path is unlit, for now. I’m not sure where this road will take me, but I’m inquisitive, enthusiastic, and trusting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

