Uncategorized

Patience, Positivity and Practice

This past month has been life changing. Toward the end of March, I decided it was time to regroup and change my outlook. It was time to think positively. That meant no more beating myself up for coming short (as a runner, as a wife, as anything) of my lofty expectations of myself.

It started with my half marathon training. For the past few years, I’ve run two half marathons a year, and haven’t really had to train hard to be in shape. Now, I’m still in the process of coming back from bouts of strains & pains. I’ve had to swallow my pride and accept that I have to work. Hard. To do this gracefully, I’ve had to be positive. Every morning I tell myself I’m getting stronger, I’m moving forward, and I’m willing to take the time and effort to make it happen. Patience. Do not despair.

“I'm planting a tree to teach me to gather strength from my deepest roots.” Andrea Koehle Jones
“I’m planting a tree to teach me to gather strength from my deepest roots.” Andrea Koehle Jones

In response to my previous posts, my dad sent me some insight. A few years ago, he was out cycling and was hit by a car. It could have been very bad, but luckily it was just bad. This is what he said of his recovery:

It took six weeks before I could lift my left arm to touch the top of my head, three months before I could even lay on my left side, and five months before I could sleep on that side. And it was six months before I had a day when I felt good, as opposed to a day when I just didn’t feel like shit. Even through all that I never felt like I wouldn’t recover. It took a lot of hard work to rehab. I didn’t once curse the guy who hit me or wonder why that had happened to me. I think that comes from my nature of always looking forward (I learned in econ the ideas of “bygones”, that you can’t change the past, only do things to make the future better). So I’d say that the most important thing is to keep a positive mental attitude.

When I read that, I knew I could have mental toughness, too.

Another source of positive vibes has been my practice at 502 Power Yoga. Not only am I getting physically stronger, and more flexible, from routinely practicing yoga again, but I’m sharpening myself mentally, too. Hanging out in garudasana, sometimes I’m tired and want to quit. I focus. I tell myself I can stay there. Sometimes I do, but sometimes I wobble. No matter what, I accept what my body is capable of in the moment. I’ve taken that lesson off the mat with me.

"Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary."
“Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles,
they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.” Elijah 40:31

My patience with myself has allowed me to be kinder to myself. My husband has noticed the difference my positive attitude has made for me. (Thanks for all the love & encouragement!) Reflecting on where I am now, I’m really, really happy with my life, and my outlook is a part of that.

One of my good friends often says, “Do your best, because it’s the best you can do.” Meet yourself in the moment, and go forth from there.

One thought on “Patience, Positivity and Practice

Leave a Reply

