Uncategorized

Just Get in a Little Over Your Head

Sometimes, our lives begin heading down a new path, and we don’t realize it until we’ve reached a crossroads. We’re surprised to find ourselves there, but after looking back, we can see that each step of the way brought us to where we are.

Recently, with a lot of encouragement, I decided to commit to teacher training though 502 Power Yoga.

Although the idea of teaching yoga has been in the back of my mind for a while, it’s never become concrete. Even when the studio announced its training, I brushed it aside thinking now was not the right time. But then I took time off running, and I started going to more classes, every chance I could. I’d already thought about scaling back on running half marathons in 2015, focusing on maintaining strength & flexibility for one whole year healthy(!) Most importantly, I’ve been looking for a way to participate in my new community, assume a leadership role in the community, and give back to the community.

Even though I’m beyond enthused with the possibilities, I’m a little nervous about training. I’ve always been good at school, so I’m not dreading the anatomy lessons or the written tests. It’s that I know I’m going to be challenged physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Yet, if there’s one thing that running and practicing yoga has taught me, it’s endurance. I don’t avoid challenge because I am strong enough. That’s something I want to teach others; that they have it inside themselves to meet their own challenges, and that they have the support of community behind them.

I think the words marathoner Desiree (Davila) Linden used to describe her training in Kenya fit well here. “I think the most that I learned out here was about myself,” she says, “And it’s kind of taking back that mentality of just get in a little over your head.”

To me, it’s a lot like wheel pose. Just a few years ago, I shied from this pose, thinking that I didn’t have the core or upper body strength to support it. I never even tried it. Eventually, I changed my mentality and said, “You know what, I can do that!” And guess what…I did. Now I do it all the time as a reminder to myself that I can.

The Freewheelin' Laura Olinger
The Freewheelin’ Laura Olinger

So perhaps it’s best to say I’m full of nervous-excitement, the same kind I get before a race, when I know I can reach the finish, but I don’t know what’s going to happen while I get there. All I do know is that I’m diving in, headfirst.

 

 

And it’s kind of taking back that mentality of just get in a little over your head. You can take these big chances and even if they don’t go perfectly to plan, then you just take a moment to just figure it out, relax and solve it—and then get yourself right back in it.
Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/03/boston-marathon/kenya-project-desiree-linden-running-culture-iten_97963#aqqTs7G4VjO0f71W.99
And it’s kind of taking back that mentality of just get in a little over your head. You can take these big chances and even if they don’t go perfectly to plan, then you just take a moment to just figure it out, relax and solve it—and then get yourself right back in it.
Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/03/boston-marathon/kenya-project-desiree-linden-running-culture-iten_97963#aqqTs7G4VjO0f71W.99
And it’s kind of taking back that mentality of just get in a little over your head. You can take these big chances and even if they don’t go perfectly to plan, then you just take a moment to just figure it out, relax and solve it—and then get yourself right back in it.
Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/03/boston-marathon/kenya-project-desiree-linden-running-culture-iten_97963#aqqTs7G4VjO0f71W.99
Leave a Reply

