Recipes

Tomato & Zucchini Freekeh

It’s time to get freaky with freekeh.

But first, what is freekeh? Freekeh is a green wheat, and is cooked similar to the way you would cook other grains, such as rice or quinoa. It’s got a lot of fiber, and protein, which we need in this plant-based household. You can read more about freekeh in this Huffington Post article.

A while ago, my mother-in-law gave me a bag of freekeh to try, and while I’m not crazy about the taste of it on its own, yesterday I transformed it into this…

I often daydream about cooking while I’m out running or walking, and last week while strolling through the neighborhood I whipped up this recipe…in my head.

Ingredients:

1 cup of freekeh

1 can of diced tomatoes (I used the one with onion & spices)

1 zucchini, shredded

Approximately 2 cups vegetable broth

1-3 cloves garlic, minced (this will depend on your taste…we love garlic!)

Olive oil

Directions: Heat a little oil in the pan on low (I probably used a teaspoon.) Cook the garlic for a minute, and then add the freekeh, broth, tomatoes, and zucchini. Bring it to a boil, and then cover and simmer. Cook it for about 10-15 minutes, depending whether you want all the liquid absorbed or not. The freekeh should be chewy.

You could add oregano, basil, or other spices. You could chop up some onion. Cooking is not always an exact science.

If you have a giant bag of freekeh sitting around, as I do, you may also want to look at these recipes posted by Freekeh Foods.

Leave a Reply

