Uncategorized

April Goals

Some people say that if you don’t set goals, you’ll never be disappointed. I’d argue that if you don’t have goals, you can’t experience the sense of achievement and gratitude after you’ve put in the work, often with help, and accomplished them. While long-term goals are important, I also like to set smaller goals to help me in my daily life. This month, I’d like to set a few goals to give myself a little boost.

It’s no secret that I’ve been down, and down on myself, lately because of my athletic injuries. After being on the DL for two months last summer, I’m paranoid that every ache will turn into a monster, wondering if I should just quit while I’m ahead. My husband, who regrettably is verbally subjected to my anxieties, won’t let me give up; he continually encourages me to stay positive. So, I decided to create a “positivity” board on Pinterest, where I can collect quotes that will remind me to keep my chin up and keep moving forward. One of my favorite quotes on there so far is from Helen Keller.

Taken from this site
Taken from this site

If you couldn’t tell from my previous posts, I am absolutely in love with Instagram. It’s probably my favorite app on my iPhone. I’ve wanted to do an Instagram challenge for a while now, and decided to do one throughout April. I picked one that relates to my training, to remind me every day why I haven’t given up yet. I’ll post the best of the photos on this blog at the end of the month, but feel free to check on my Instagram in the meantime!

As I just bought a package at 502 Power Yoga, I wanted to do a yoga photo-a-day challenge as well. For me, yoga is a huge confidence booster. I picked this challenge to do, even though it’s from October 2013, and I’m very excited to get creative! I’ve already recruited my husband as co-photographer for this project. I’m looking forward to combining my yoga practice and my interest in photography.

Catniss might make some guest appearances
Catniss might make some guest appearances

Most importantly, I also want to spend positive, quality time with my husband. As I said, lately I’ve laid out a lot of my anxieties to him. Even though we promised to go through life together, for better or for worse, cycling through my negativity with him is not fair. I want to make a more conscious effort to be positive, and to let this positivity shine in our relationship.

I guess you could say I’m doing a little spring cleaning, removing fear, doubt and anxiety, and replacing them with love, optimism and enthusiasm.

How do you create positivity in your life? Are you setting any goals for yourself this spring?

 

3 thoughts on “April Goals

  1. Focusing on being thankful for what you have instead of regretting what you don’t have is like an elixir. Joy is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

