Running

Butler Bulldog Jog 2014

Yesterday, I was not in Louisville.

Well, I was when I woke up at 4:30 in the morning to drop my mother-in-law off at the airport. While she was heading south for spring break in Fort Myers with my father- and brother-in-law, my husband and I drove north to Indianapolis for our first race of 2014.

While I was a Butler student, I ran my first 5K road race at the Bulldog Jog during my freshman year. I guess that’s when you could say my love of racing began. This year, the race has changed to a 3.5 mile race (along with a one mile dog walk.) The extra 0.4 miles didn’t concern me, but the year’s past injuries did.

As many of you know, I had to take two months off running last summer due to a hip injury. I spent a lot of time strengthening (my injuries are mostly due to muscle weaknesses and imbalances) biking, ellipticalling (is that a word?) and running in the pool. The last activity provided much entertainment for my family, as they will gladly tell you. In the past few months I’ve finally gotten back to running regularly as I had before, but I still see a sports chiropractor for my hip, and more recently a knee strain.

Gathering with the other runners (and dog walkers) at the start

With my hip still occasionally bothering me, and my knee wrapped in kinesio tape, my husband and I approached the start line yesterday morning. I felt a little nervous, and had no idea how I would perform. From the start, I felt really strong and settled into a quick pace. The part I love best about racing is the energy, and I have fun using it to my advantage. While my husband, who stuck with me the whole time, and I trotted along the canal I’d pace myself next to someone for a bit, and then shoot us out ahead to the next person. It seemed like everyone was having a great time!

All smiles after our good finish
All smiles after our good finish

I finished 53rd, right behind Nick (I say his legs are longer), and faster than I thought I could at this point. I was 16th in my age group. Yesterday gave me a lot of confidence, which is so meaningful as I train to get back to racing my favorite distance, the half marathon. I also had a blast spending the day with my husband, and the friends we got to visit with after the race.

And to top it all off, Catniss dove right in for a little snuggle session after missing us all day.

Catniss, our little kitten snugglebug

Leave a Reply

