Uncategorized

Routine Redo

I tend to get comfortable in my routines, so I can be skeptical of change, but when a new, better routine comes along, I am ready to jump in.

Last week, I took my “spring break” to visit my family in Illinois. It seems a little silly calling it “spring break” when it wasn’t a true break from school or work. In fact, since I finished teaching at the end of last semester, my Christmas break technically extended into spring break and warped into a mega break. However, during the past few months I’ve built routines for myself that help me spend my time and be productive. Typically, I would get up and eat breakfast with my husband, workout, get ready, go to Mass, run errands, read or write in the afternoon, make dinner and relax with Nick again in the evening.

Starting yesterday, though, my mega break ended at 4:30AM. I’m a morning person, and actually don’t mind rising that early, assuming that dark, black coffee is available. After a couple cups of said coffee, and breakfast with my husband, who woke with me even though this week is his spring break, I hit the road to get to work at 6:00.

On my first morning, I had to make sure the girl I now nanny got out of bed, ate breakfast, and, very importantly, brushed her hair, before taking her to school. I never knew how hard it was to coax a 6-year-old into getting ready on time! Phew! It all went by in a whirlwind, and I was home by 8:30. I had most of the day to myself, until I went back to babysit again in the evening. Needless to say, I was in bed before 10:00 last night, but with a smile on my face.

Yesterday was an adjustment. Never before have I eaten breakfast at 4:30AM, lunch at 10:00AM and dinner at 3:00PM. By the time my husband and I took an “after dinner” walk, we felt like it should be bedtime in a few hours. (This schedule is something I’ll need to work on.) Today, I am not needed in the morning, so we slept in until 7AM, and I may not be needed in the afternoon either. That routine I built for myself the first couple months here in Louisville? Yep, that’s out the window. Usually change and I don’t see eye to eye, but with this change, I’m excited. I feel good working again, and I’m doing something that I enjoy. I feel very satisfied knowing that I am helping one family’s life run more smoothly. Since I work “on call,” this job will help me be more flexible, an ability that I’ve had to adopt in “adult life.” I also believe that I’ll have a better understanding of what having a family is like, knowledge that I hope to use further down the road.

And, of course, I find little kids to be so much fun, and really funny, especially when they show you their game called “Doggie Doo” (yes, someone actually invented this game.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

